Edge Finishes using the Passap Machine


href=”https://cckittenknits.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/s00702911.jpg”>S0070291DSCF0286 I came across a News and Views magazine and I liked the look of this trim by Pat Hampton. It was written for the Standard Machines but I thought I would try it on the passap. To do the garter rows on Standard machine you would use the garter bar-not fun when you have a lot of stitches on the needles. You could use the G-carriage but too much fuss. Now….on the passap you just use the transfer carriage and you are done with a row in less than a half minute. It took me three trys to do this . The reason was the cast on . This is what I did. I cast on both beds, hung comb and dropped front bed stitches so I was only working on the back bed. I knitted several rows with yarn and then one row was knitted with ravel cord. I pulled all the needles all the way out and e-wrapped them with the main yarn. I then HAND knitted one row. Then you transfer to the front bed but I did this by hand also. Then I continued to follow the pattern using my U100 transfer carriage and it worked nicely.In the pattern, Pat says to keep eye on end stitches and she is right. They will drop off.
You will do six garter stitch rows, seven rows of 1X1 rib and then six rows of garter stitch.This would look gorgeous as the lower band on a tunic and even the wrists. It can be turned and used as a front band on a cardigan.
If you would like the directions email me and I will send them to you.

7 Comments »

  1. Miss. Rowels Said:

    Hello,

    WOW!!!

    These edges look GREAT.

    When you can, please send me directions.

    THANK YOU so very much for doing this on a Passap.

    I am always in awe of MK’ers who knit well enough on Japanese and Passap machines to be able to translate patterns between the two.

    Thank you again.

    missrowels@gmail.com

  2. Sandra Kettler Said:

    That looks great!Aren’t those old NewsNViews something special??? What issue is this in?Would really appreciate reaaading her aarticle..also-yes,please send/email your specific instructions!!You inspire me to do some exploring on my DM80!!I started MKing in 1968 with the Pinkie!! Really enjoy your posts!! Originally lived in Bath,Ohio..your are in Mentor?Bought some items from you on eBay about a year ago! How has your weather been?We have just a little snow..sun and blue skies almost every day. Keep up your special,creative knitting..I really enjoy your posts!!. looking forward to hearing from you! Up because I have Nubians with new babies!! Just checking on them, Sandra

    Date: Tue, 8 Jan 2013 05:16:00 +0000 To: windspiritranch@live.com

  3. Lillan Said:

    This is nice!
    I should like to have the directions if possible.

  4. I sent each of you directions. Let me know if you did not get them. Thanks for the compliments. Have fun! 🙂

    • Lillan Said:

      Thank you so much!

  5. Lois Said:

    Could you please email me the instructions for Edge finishes using the Passap. Thanks for your input


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

