Felted Christmas Bell with Cardinal


DSC00100I found this pattern on the internet called Knitted Christmas Bells By Jane Lake. It was a hand knitting pattern so I looked at it and it was so simple to do on the machine. It is just 15 stitches and 28 rows-no increases or decreases. I cast on the 15 stitches and you knit one row. Then on the next row you purl the first five stitches and knit the rest. So I transferred five stitches on the end to the ribber and knit one row. Then I transferred up to the main bed and knit a row. You continue those two rows for the pattern. If you want it longer, you add stitches to cast on. When you finish 28 rows you bind off and sew up seam and gather the end opposite the purl stitches. I just used a larger tension because I wanted to see what would happen when I felted it. It came out two inches high and two inches wide at the bottom of the bell. If you want the instructions, you can email me or google them.I did not save the link.  When I make this again I am going to cast on with waste and ravel and take off on waste and kitchener stitch the stitches together so I don’t have a seam even though you can hardly see it on this bell. I just did an “I” cord . It could use a little red bow. I just had fun doing a needle felting design on it. Just for the heck of it I am going to put it in my Etsy store.

Leave a Reply

