Fingerless Gloves


I was supposed to be knitting on the passap but made a tension swatch and decided I did not like it. Meanwhile, I found this hand knitting pattern on Knitting Paradise for free. It is called Two Hour Fingerless Gloves by Onix Terevinto. I still don’t get it about fingerless gloves because it is my fingers that get cold! lol  In the pattern she knits on straight needles and tells you that you can do circular also. It is so easy to convert to machine. Not easy to do on machine! lol  It took about an hour and a half on the machine for both gloves. If you don’t have a garter bar, don’t bother trying. When I finished and sewed them up I did not like the fit or how they looked. I used TD 2 for a 2 by 1 rib and TD3. for the body of the glove. I decided if I made them again to go to TD3 but instead I would not do the 4 stitch increase on the first row. So I got to thinking that they were plain and I don’t like to do duplicate stitch. I decided to lightly felt them and do a needle felt design. OMG! They fit good and feel good.  Of course I was checking on them every two minutes to make sure they did not over felt. So I am happy with them and got to thinking that if I had knitted these in the round it would have been a breeze to do the thumb without moving all the stitches on either side.  DUH, so I will try again doing circular and I bet I can beat the two hour time to make them by hand. The second picture is the glove on my hand. It was hard to take a picture and hold the camera with my left hand. When I put them in my shop I will have hubby take picture.

.

2 Comments »

  1. Pauline Allen Said:

    Wish I could buy a pair of the cat gloves for a cat lover friend

    • Pauline, what a nice friend you are. I did sell this pair but I don’t have plans to make more. If you read this blog it took forever to do them and frustrating to say the least. Sorry 😦


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

