I’m The Big Brother Afghan made on the Passap E6000 in 5 colors


The shower that I was supposed to go to was moved a week later so I got the idea to knit the new baby’s brother Hunter an afghan of his own. My sister said he carries blankets around all the time. I asked my friend Sheila if she had any ideas and she told me to google I’m the big brother and that is where I got the idea. I had to snag each child and then reduce the pattern without using the correct proportion box.  I used five colors . I had to arrange the grass and the wagon so that I could change the yarn in the feeder to the fifth color without having five colors in a row. On the back there are two green striped areas where I did this.  I wish I had more time because I would revise this . I only had navy and light blue. Royal blue would have been better. On the bottom of his pants in the afghan in the picture it looks darker where the green was on the back but in looking at it here,  it does not show at all. The second picture shows the back and the third picture is what I would do to correct the pattern. I also would move the girl and boy over to the left which is in the revised picture. Would also seperate radio flyer on the wagon and move to the left.

In the revised picture the boy has to be moved up and a couple of more rows added to seperate the grass a little more.This is what happens when I hurry! I get stressed and can’t multi-task. lol

I only used 120 rows instead of 160 for a four color afghan and I like the size much better. It is about 34 inches wide by 41 inches long.

10 Comments »

  1. Collette Said:

    What a thoughtful gift and a great idea. I enjoy all of your wonderful work. Thank you for sharing it wit us. Collette

    • Thank you Collette. If you would like the pattern I will send it to you. Since I copied the design I don’t think I can sell it. I also left a little dog out of the picture because I was in a hurry. lol. I would probably add it if I did this again.
      Carol 🙂

  2. Aaltje Doedens Said:

    I like your afghans, but this five color one is so nice! Did you knit it over 180 stitches, was your pattern 120 rows and wich technique did you use? I would like to knit it, but do’nt know if I can manage it. I hope you can send me some details.

    • I knitted on 179 needles with one needle out of work on the back bed. I knitted 120 rows which is multiplyed by 8(since only using four colors at one time and each color is knitted two times). that is 960 rows. The technique is 211. I had to mark the row where the green ended and change the color in the green feeder to red. Not hard to do at all. I download with win/crea. If you want my revised pattern I would be glad to send it. I would take the names out of course.
      Carol 😉

      • Aaltje Doedens Said:

        Carol, I would love it if you could send me the pattern. I work also with win crea.
        Thank you for sharing!
        Aaltje

      • I have to complete an order for someone and then I will write up the pattern from my notes and send you the directions and file for win/crea. I will send it early this coming week.
        Carol 🙂

  3. Miss. Rowels Said:

    Hdllo,

    I absolutely love this pattern. When it arrived in my inbox and I just saw it I thought: wow what a clever idea BUT I also thought, surely, there must be a mistake since the E6000 only knits 4 colors in a row and this item is knit in clearly knit in 5 colors.

    If you can send me the pattern and knitting instructions, that would be great.

    My e-mail address is: missrowels@gmail.com

    Thank you.

    • Hi, Thank you. I have to tweak the final revised pattern and will type up and send you the directions and the file. It is a bmp file. I use win/crea to download. I will tell you the tensions to use , the yarn, the mast tensions and when to stop on the row where you change the yarn in the feeder from green to red. I have an order for four wine bottle covers. If you will be patient I will get this to you early next week.
      Carol 🙂

  4. Victoria Said:

    This is an absolutely adorable pattern. Everyone is understandably excited about a new addition to the family so it is so nice to see an item that praises an older sibling.

    I would love to have this pattern and the knitting instructions so if you can send it to me, please do.

    Thank you.

    • Hi, Thank you. I have to tweak the final revised pattern and will type up and send you the directions and the file. It is a bmp file. I use win/crea to download. I will tell you the tensions to use , the yarn, the mast tensions and when to stop on the row where you change the yarn in the feeder from green to red. I have an order for four wine bottle covers. If you will be patient I will get this to you early next week.
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

