Felted Purse with Owl and the Moon


I knitted and felted this purse differently than the others. It was an idea that I got from my friend  Linda on Craft Gossip. She does not know about the idea. Hee hee. She had knitted a purse according to a pattern and I liked the way the top was done so I used it on this one. I did not want a flap to interfere with the needlefelting.Here is how I made it. I knitted 20 rows for the bottom on 60 stitches. I added 12 stitches on each side for the sides. Usually I just knit straight up but I wanted the purse to curve in slightly so I decreased every 20 rows on end stitch and needle 31  on each side.(total of 4 stitches to decrease) I knitted 82 rows,  I bound off 4 stitches on each side which were the stitches left from the 12 stitches added on( and after the decreases) and knitted 20 more rows on the remaining 60 stitches and bound off . I rehung the bottom and knitted 82 rows without decreases and placed a marker and knit 20 more rows and bound off these stitches. I turned the flaps at the opening to the inside and tacked them down and felted the purse. At the top on the sides between the front and the back where there were four stitches I placed a gold grommet for the handle.  I knitted circular for the handle. I knitted 15 circular rows, I took the stitches off on waste yarn and put through the purse grommet and  hung the beginning on the same needles and knit 85 circular rows, placed a marker, knitted 15 circular rows , took them off on waste yarn and put the tube through the grommet  and hung the last stitches on the row with the marker and bound off. Now I have to buy magnetic clasps and they can be placed on the inside flaps that I knitted extra without showing on the outside. I am also going to place a very slim dowel rod under each flap so that the purse stays straight at the top.  I am now working on a little makeup bag with a button to match and will post next.

Hope I have not been too confusing with my instructions. The color is a Heather Brown. The design I bought from Dreamstime Web Site.

4 Comments »

  1. Joyce Fazio Said:

    BEAUTIFULLY DONE. YOU SEEM TO HAVE A GIFT FOR ORIGINAL DESIGN. BRAVO.

    • Thank you Joyce. I don’t know how original I am since I did buy the graphic!
      Carol 🙂

  2. Norma Said:

    Very VERY nice! I love this purse, Carol!! And with Halloween coming up…perfect timing too!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

