Passap-Adding a Border to an Afghan


I came across an article in News and Views called Let’s Knit An Afghan-E6000. It is volume 25, November of 1995.The article is by JoAnn Teodori .

Once I sat and read the whole article, it seemed too confusing and I walked away. Started an afghan and was unsuccessful so I went back to this article and decided to figure it out. It was really easy once I got the hang of how it was being programmed.  The pattern for B  is 1071 in the passap pattern book and it is 32 st by 32 rows. You start by entering Pattern A as 186 which is a technique. Then Pattern B you enter 4 or five times to make sure pattern repeats across the bed. This was supposed to be 5 repeats and I made it 4 for a baby afghan. 4 repeats came to 128 stitches for the middle design. Then you program Pattern C just like pattern A which is the bottom and left side border. I used needles 64 left and 64 right and then I added nine stitches on each side for the border. When you are all done entering information and you start set up you just put needle 73 minus for the left needle and 73 right on the right side. The design will knit on middle 128 stitches and the borders knit the technique 186 which is plain. The directions are wonderful and they walk you through EVERY step of programming.

Okay so I cast on and knit the first row and the front bed stitches fell off! I thought…what the ?  I failed to follow one sentence in the article and that was to put the yarn in color four of your changer and cancel the other 3. Yep, that was it!  This total afghan was 592 rows and it is 37 inches by 40 inches. This is a yarn that I bought from ebayer Colobrians and it is supposed to be 224 but it is finer. However, it is just perfect for this fantasy fairisle afghan. It takes 10 ounces of yarn. Now I am going to do one in a 224 and different pattern with a border and measure the differences. The tuck will show up more I am sure but it is very nice on this one.

3 Comments »

  1. ndennis Said:

    That’s really nice. The tuck is very subtle, but I like it. The border is cool, too. Thanks for “hanging in there!”

  2. Joyce Fazio Said:

    Being able to add a border to an afghan is great. I’ve tried to find the magazine to which you refer, but no luck. i’d like to get a copy of the instructions.

    Is the border knit separately, or is it knit on within the patterning?

  3. Gillian Pearson Said:

    I must say i am confused about the programming. When I programme my afghans on creation I programme A as the bottom border, programme B is the actual middle including the side borders and programme C is the top border. I add in the technique for each programme which is either 138, 186 or 187. Sorry if I sound doff – love your site and esp your humour!!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

