Cat in the Hat Felted Yarn/Craft Tote


When my friend Linda from Craft Gossip asked her followers what they would like to see me make, the largest response was craft totes without buckles, clasps or closures of any sort that the yarn would catch on. I came up with this design by going to the craft site Biscuits and Jam which has a stripe generator that is really unique. The link to that site is at the bottom.

I picked a striped pattern that had 9 rows for the second stripe at the top because I knew that would be about one inch and the grommets would be easy to put in . When I finished knitting and felting this I showed it to my husband and right away he said “Cat in the Hat”! It did look like a hat before I put the grommets in so that is what I have named it. I love the size and the length of the handles. They are 34 inches in total length but shorten once they go through the grommets.The size of the tote is 9 inches circular and 13 inches long. I made the handles short so it does not drag on the ground if you carry it with your hands. It looks cute over the wrist also.

Okay, so here is how I made it. I cast on both beds with waste yarn  and ravel cord. Then I knit 110 rows(220 circular rows) When I got to the top I just cast off all stitches on both beds. On the bottom I took the starting tail and gathered all of the open stitches on the waste yarn and secured.  Then I felted the bag. I placed eight grommets around the top that are one inch in width. I knitted a 3 stitch I cord , one in each color. I knitted about 40 inches for each one. I wove them through the holes, joined the beginnings with the ends and then felted the cord in my table top felter. I hung the bag in so only the cords felted and not the bag again. The bag and handles take a little over 8 ounces of yarn.  It will be for sale in my Etsy store soon.

http://www.biscuitsandjam.com/stripe_maker.php

6 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    I ♥ this bag, what fun 🙂

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thanks lady! I thought it was fun to make. Can’wait to make some more. 🙂

      • Linda Lanese Said:

        Are you seling it? ♥

      • Yes I am selling it. I am going to put in my Etsy store today. 🙂 If you want me to make you one, buy the yarn and I will make it. 🙂

  2. ndennis Said:

    Ok, so what is this about a tabletop felter?

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Hi, I will take picture and post it on blog. 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

