Felted Black Purse with Chickadee


I knitted this purse the same way as the brown one but I used Paton’s wool yarn. I made the body of the bag longer but the straps shorter . I knitted the pocket piece first and hung on the bottom stitches when doing the back.  I inserted a zipper in the pocket for safety. I used black and grey fabric to cover the plastic canvas in the bottom and up the sides of the bag. I used a magnetic snap and I felted a button. I had a beautiful black and grey button but the snap would not allow attachment without the button wobbling around. I made the circle in DAK and started design of isolated motif on row 10. The circle was 42 rows so I did ten rows after the circle and 22 rows which is the length of tab.

I found a picture of a chickadee and I resized it to one quarter of its size so that it would fit into picture. The left picture shows the zipper in the pocket opening and the right picture shows the inside of the purse. The material is dark black with grey and is very subtle. The flash makes it appear light grey.It took me three hours to needlefelt the design onto the front. I hand sewed the sides of the pocket and the insides of the material covered plastic canvas. The purse took three skeins of yarn. It is 10 inches wide by 9 inches tall and 2 inches deep. It is for sale in my Etsy shop .

3 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    I ♥♥♥ it. I will pin-it

  2. Linda Lanese Said:

  3. cckittenknits Said:

    Thank you Linda, my biggest fan. lol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

