The Passap U 100 and Two Color Fabrics


I found an article in Machine Knitters Source Magazine Nov/Dec1999 Volume 16 No 93. It is called U-100 Possibilities  going beyond the instruction manual. The first two samples have an embossed effect. The picture on the right is a close up of the sample on the left. The pattern is 1130, Technique 185 and the U100 is set on 5. The yarn is only in one eyelet. You knit two rows with yarn, transfer front bed stitches to back bed and then you knit two rows without yarn in the second eyelet. The Lock setting is set on BX/LX with left arrow key depressed. I set up needles according to needle rule and ended up losing a stitch on the right side every once in awhile. You can’t use the end stitch holders when using the U 100 so this might be part of the problem. The other I think is that you have to have both back bed needles on each end  for this to come out nice.

This second sample is the same design using two colors and the U 100 on setting 4. The pattern and the technique are the same.  This takes a lot of concentration and takes awhile to do. The repeat is Knit 2 rows with color 1 on N/LX. Then Knit 2 rows with color 2 on N/GX. Transfer front bed stitches to the back bed. On this sample, I got in the rythm but you also have to remember to turn the racking handle back down after transferring stitches.  Also on this sample I had loops on the right side where the yarn was slack on both colors. Again, I believe needle set up was part of the problem. I love the final fabric on both of them. The solid color is not as time consuming.

Next I will be trying another fabric from the same article called Fancy stripes and another called Magic Windows. Now , notice I said Trying!

4 Comments »

  1. Bonnie Said:

    Gonna try that when I get back on my feet. Keep the great teaching going!
    Thanks

  2. cckittenknits Said:

    Thanks Bonnie
    Carol 🙂

  3. Robert Said:

    How would you create houndstooth using this technique?

    • Hi Robert. I would have to search for that answer. Husband has been in hospital for two weeks and I am here all the time. When things settle down I will look and see what I can find out.
      Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

