Machine “Hand Knit” Potato Chip Scarf


This is the potato chip scarf that I “hand knitted” on the knitting machine(Brother Bulky) The yarn is called Starbella by Premier. I went to U tube videos to see how these were knitted and went back to the machine to try it. I used six needles and hung the loops from edge on these needles. I pushed these loops behind the latches and took  the next six loops on edge of yarn and put in hooks of needles. I then pushed the needles back all the way pulling these six stitches through the first six. I then pulled needles to hold so those stitches were behind the latches, rehung six and repeated this all the way to 64 inches. The yarn does not go through the tension mast and this can be done on any machine.This is an all acrylic yarn that feels silky and drapey. The cost was $8.00 plus shipping. They have variegated yarns but I bought the creamy white and I bought a black. People are using Red Heart Boutiqe Sashay but availabilty is not good until the end of January. When I first priced it , it was$4.99 a skein. I will try it with that yarn when it becomes available since I can buy it locally. However, love the feel of this yarn. You can see all of the different ways to wear this scarf and I really like the look. You can left mouse click on pictures to make them larger.

6 Comments »

  1. Linda Lanese Said:

    Stunning Carol, you are so clever!!!!

  2. Linda Lanese Said:

    Carol, this is stunning! You are so clever 🙂

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you Linda! 🙂

  3. Lisa Said:

    How long does it take to make the scarf using the machine. I do it by hand but it takes me a long time and my yarn twists.
    Lisa

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Hi Lisa, The first one in white took about one to one and a half hours. Of course I was doing it slowly . If a stitch drops from the machine and you don’t catch it , it will unravel quite a bit. The black one took about an hour knitting four rows of another yarn inbetween. The short curly black one took about a half hour. The good thing is that the yarn does not curl while I place it on the needles. The bad thing is that there is not much profit for my time because the Premier yarn is expensive when you add shipping.
      Carol 🙂

  4. uccindia Said:

    Potato Chips Machine in mumbai
    Liked the post. Looking forward for more like this.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

