Passap 6000 Lace Purse


This is my first attempt at lace design on the passap machine. It is a lot easier to do this on the Passap than on the Brother machine. However, the Brother has some fine lace patterns that I make my slipper socks with and I don’t think the passap can do that.

This purse is just a square and gathered at the bottom. It is 90 stitches wide. Technique 265 and pattern 1010. I did not cut the tassle at the bottom and left loops because there is a filament of ribbon that will fray. I like the look this way.  If you left click on both pictures you will see a glitter from the ribbon. It is sort of a pearl ribbon like some of the Christmas ribbons . This is the evening purse. The pattern is by April Mills, The Knitting Mills, called passap purses and copyright 1994. There is a larger one for daytime and cotton is suggested. I have a couple of colors of this yarn but I don’t know the name.  I am thinking of Flash but not sure. It has the texture and weight of diamonte yarn. Tension used was 5/5.. for the body of the purse. I think I will make a little bit shorter next time. Looks nice hanging on a wrist.

One more thing. I learned how to do the ” i” cord on the passap. It is different than doing it on the Brother machines. So now I have that technique and don’t have to go and thread up my Brother to do it.

Knit an I cord for the drawstring SS 5/5.2 by using 3 or 4 needles on the back bed. Set the locks to GX on the front bed, and BX one arrowkey on the back bed. A pusher must be in working position under these needles. Use black strippers and a small weight on these stitches, and knit to the length that you want it.

6 Comments »

  1. BJ Exum Said:

    So, care to share how to make i cord on Passap?

  2. cckittenknits Said:

    Sorry, I thought those that had passaps would already know. Here it is: Knit an I cord for the drawstring
    SS 5/5.2 by using 3 or 4 needles on the beck bed.
    Set the locks to GX on the front bed, and BX
    one arrowkey on the back bed. A pusher must be in working position under these needles. Use black strippers and a small weight on these stitches, and knit to the length that you want it.
    Carol 🙂

    • NeulontaHirmu Said:

      If I understand your setup correctly you use BX, arrow key and pushers to knit in one direction and skip in the other?

      Why so difficult setup? I’ve used front bed (either bed would do really) and set the lock CX and knit the length required. Only if the coord would be wider than 5 stitches, I’d switch to both beds and circular (CX/CX both locks).

      • cckittenknits Said:

        This is what the pattern stated to do. I am sure there are several ways to do the same thing. I will try your way also.
        Thanks,
        Carol

  3. Celestine Getty Said:

    Just too cute…I love this type of purse to carry knitting or just a night out…Thanks for sharing

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Hi Celestine, You’re welcome.
      Carol:)


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

