Front band of baby sweater on passap


The design in the  baby sweater that I made to go with the afghan is similar to a baby jacket that I knitted years ago on the Brother Machine. I thought it was by Sandy Lightfoot but it wasn’t. It is in Machine Knitting News magazine, September of 1998. It is a design by Margaret Morton. I tried to do the middle band on the passap  that is for the buttons and the buttonholes. If I couldn’t do this, then I would not do rest of sweater. However, I was successful. I did not do the buttonholes in this sample but there are three down each side of plain knitted part. This is my next project and I will post it when I finish it. The band is 26 stitches wide and done in full needle rib. After four rows, you transfer five stitches each side of the middle one(on the back bed) to the front bed , put the needles out of work on the back bed that you just emptied and knit two rows. You bring one needle each side of middle one (on the back bed) into work and knit two rows until seven middle stitches. Then you decrease one stitch on each side and knit two rows until back down to one stitch. This forms the diamond.

2 Comments »

  1. Bonnie Said:

    So what yarn are you using? It looks so pretty!
    Bonnie

  2. cckittenknits Said:

    The pattern calls for a 3 ply acrylic but I am using two strands of 224. It is a really white white.
    Carol 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

