Passap Baby V Neck Cardigan


This is my first baby sweater on the passap. The pattern is from a To and Fro magazine but I don’t have the date or the issue of the pattern. It is called Baby’s Cardigan by Ann Baker. It is pattern 1000 on the E 6000. The technique is 138-tuck stitch. It was very easy to do but I did not follow the pattern as it was written. I  did not bind off the neck, shoulder or sleeves because I don’t like the thickness of the seam after joining and sometimes it is too tight and does not stretch. I joined the shoulders on the machine and the sleeves and band as well. The band was the quickest thing yet. The pattern called for two buttonholes but I put in three so that the top one is where the first increase is. When I finished, it would have looked okay with just two.  I could not find cute white buttons because the fabric store had a huge closeout and will be restocking with another manufacturer. I did get heart buttons to put on a girls sweater but this couple is not revealing the babies sex so I had to go with plain. I made the hat and still have to do the booties. Click on picture to make larger to see the design. I like it because it almost matches the design in the afghan.

14 Comments »

  1. Bonnie Said:

    You have been one busy lady! Sooo pretty

  2. cckittenknits Said:

    Thank you! 🙂

  3. elizabeth Said:

    What a lovely gift! I enjoy looking to see what you have done. You give me inspiration to “plod’ on with my knitting.

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you Elizabeth. If it helps one person get motivated I am happy. Keep on knitting.
      Carol 🙂

  4. Beth Chatmon Said:

    Very nice!! I wish I could get my bands to look that good! I still struggle with all the finishing. I really like the hat too! What pattern is it? Any chance it’s a shareable one?
    Beth
    🙂

  5. cckittenknits Said:

    Hi Beth, Thank you. If you go to the Passap People Group and join you will have access to their patterns on file. There are a lot of very cute patterns too. That is where the hat pattern is.
    Carol

  6. Jane Said:

    This is beautiful! What method did you use to attach the bands so quickly and neatly? Did you attach them lengthwise? I’d like to know as I sometimes knit baby cardigans for my local charity knitting group, but not as often as I would like as the finishing seems to take forever.

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Hi Jane, Thank you. I will send you pictures of how it looks on machine before casting off. I finish as much as I can on the machine . When I finish I usually just have the side seams and sleeve seams to sew up .
      First you would hang the front edge of the sweater right side facing you. Then start hanging the band by stretching it a little. Push both sets of stitches behind the needles and then latch tool bind off with a long piece of yarn. I take shoulder stitches off on waste yarn after knitting. Then with right side facing you hang those stitches back onto the needles. Remove ravel cord. Hang the other set of shoulder stitches (right side facing towards machine)and you can push both sets of stitches behind needles and bind off with latch tool. Or you can leave second set of stitches inside of needle head and push needles back through the first set of stitches (only one stitch left on needle.) and then latch tool bind off.
      Hope I have not confused you!
      Carol 🙂

  7. Kathy Said:

    What a beautiful set. Where would I find the “Lovely” pattern? I am new to knitting so don’t have access to some of the early Passap magazines.
    You give me so much inspiration
    Kathy

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Hi Kathy, I believe the baby afghan pattern is in the archives of the Passap Knit Groups. If you join, you have access to all of the free patterns.
      Carol:)

  8. Brian Tweed Said:

    good info here glad i came

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you Brian, if you put your email address on my blog site, you will automatically receive an email when I post something new.
      Carol 🙂

  9. Jill Foley Said:

    Hello, I know this is one of your older posts…but new to me!!! I love the sweater, how did you do the button holes in the band?
    I have a passap and tried the instructions in the manual (horizontal buttonholes). Your little sweater looks like they may be a vertical holes. Would you mind sharing? Thanks so much.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

