Passap Wool Vest with Knit-In-Trim


This is a Sylvia Jones sweater design with Knit in Trim. The center band and armholes are knitted on back bed while knitting  main stitches on the front bed. Once I changed the setting on my back bed as suggested by Pat Groves of the Yahoo group, I was successful. This is Jaggerspun Maine Line 2/8 Wool. The original pattern is a pullover but I don’t like pullover vests so I made into a cardigan. Also, because I made my sweater larger than pattern I could not do back neck trim like pattern said. I had to do 1×1 to pull the neck in and it looks fine.

The second  picture shows the close up of the bands and the machine knitted applique flowers that I put on so that it wasn’t so plain. I am sure you can knit the flowers on the passap but I cheated(uh oh!) and used my Brother machine because it was faster. I was able to finish the vest in one day and I did the flowers in an evening and took about an hour or two to sew them on.

10 Comments »

  1. Celestine Getty Said:

    Beautiful. When you wear this vest you will get lots of compliments. You were able to finish in a day , by hand knitting it would take me a month…Thanks for sharing

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thanks Celestine, If I did this by hand I would not get finished for a year! LOL

  2. Barbara Said:

    It is beautiful Carol – and matches the rhododendron in the background!
    Well done.

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you Barb. My rhododendron just opened up totally todayfor the occasion. lol 🙂

  3. elizabeth Said:

    Hi Carol,

    Another beautifully constructed garment! You put me to shame.
    Elizabeth

  4. cckittenknits Said:

    Thank you Elizabeth! I don’t want to put you to shame, I just love the machine and what it can do.
    Carol

  5. BJ Said:

    beautiful! and nice touch with the flower appliques, also love the color!

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you BJ!
      🙂 Carol

  6. carla Said:

    Carol is beautiful and the flowers are a show ^___^ on shirt and in the background!

    • cckittenknits Said:

      Thank you Carla! 🙂


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

